Wyo. Air National Guard members recognized as outstanding

  • Published
  • By Master Sgt. Trudy Woodcock
  • Public Affairs
Members of the Wyoming Air National Guard were recognized for their outstanding service during 2008, at a formal banquet Saturday night. 

"It's a pleasure to have the opportunity to recognize these outstanding individuals," said Col. Dennis Grunstad, 153rd Airlift Wing commander. "They represent the ideals all of us in the Wyoming Air National Guard believe, people first, mission always." 

The following individuals were recognized for their leadership, military bearing, knowledge of military customs, community service and personal achievements. 

Senior Airman Olivia O. De La Torre, Airman of the Year. 
Staff Sgt. Monte C. Medina, Noncommissioned Officer of the Year. 
Master Sgt. Brandi L. Matzek, First Sergeant of the Year. 
Master Sgt. Shane S. Larson, Senior Noncommissioned Officer of the Year. 
Capt. Michelle R. Mulberry, Company Grade Officer of the Year. 
Senior Master Sgt. Carl Hocking was chosen as the Flag Team Member of the Year. This award is a symbol of the extreme amount of volunteerism and undying commitment a Flag Team member must possess. 

Master Sgt. Daniel Lyon, Tech. Sgt. Lewis Garza, Tech. Sgt. Jeremy Mullin, Tech. Sgt. Nancy Winter, Staff Sgt. Elias Camargo, Staff Sgt. Victoria Lopez, Staff Sgt. Bruce Scheel, and Senior Airman Ann Fitzgerald were named as the Chiefs Council Core Value Award recipients. This award recognizes the junior enlisted members of the Wyoming Air National Guard who best represent the Air Force/Air National Guard Core Values: Integrity first, Service before self, Excellence in all we do, Commitment to Citizen Soldier heritage, and Strength of our diverse family. 

Master Sgt. Lynette K. Kelley was recognized as the Unit Career Advisor of the Year. The Unit Career Advisor plays a key role in promoting the careers and opportunities of our military force, from the youngest Airman to the most seasoned senior noncommissioned officer. 

Tech. Sgt. Milton D. Fitzgerald was named as the Top Recruiter of the Year for the Wyoming Air National Guard. Tech Sgt. Mark E. Hill was selected as the Rookie Recruiter of the Year. These awards recognize the recruiters who continue to go above and beyond and whose individual efforts and support have been a contributing factor in this organization's ability to meet its missions.